SpaceX’s Crew-2 astronaut mission for NASA: Live updates

Refresh

2021-04-15T21:40:00.966Z

One week to launch for SpaceX’s Crew-2

The crew for SpaceX’s upcoming Crew-2 mission is all smiles as we get closer to launch. From the left is European Space Agency astronaut Thomas Pesquet, NASA astronauts Megan McArthur and Shane Kimbrough and JAXA astronaut Akihiko Hoshide. (Image credit: SpaceX)

SpaceX is one week away from launching four astronauts into space for NASA to begin a months-long trek to the International Space Station. 

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the astronauts on the Crew-2 mission for NASA on Thursday, April 22. Liftoff is set for 6:11 a.m. EDT (1011 GMT). The space agency will hold a Flight Readiness Review briefing today, April 15, at 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT) to discuss the mission. You can watch that live here and follow along at the top of this page.

The Crew-2 mission will launch from NASA’s historic Pad 39A at the Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida. A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket and the Crew Dragon Endeavour, which launched SpaceX’s first crewed flight for NASA (called Demo-2) in May 2020, will launch the mission. 

Crew-2 will launch a four-person crew: NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough, Megan McArthur, Japanese astronaut Akihiko Hoshide and European Space Agency astronaut Thomas Pesquet. The four space travelers will join seven others aboard the station when they arrive at the station on April 23. Four of those crewmates launched on SpaceX’s Crew-2 mission and will return to Earth on April 28. The other three arrived earlier this month on a Russian Soyuz to begin their own extended stay. 

— Tariq Malik

Source

Choose your Reaction!
Leave a Comment